Dance Study: Chanté S. Rowe

| 3 images

Dancer: Chanté S. Rowe

Believe it or not I was going to post a Dance Study session that I did with Chanté in the snow after Snowstorm Nemo (thank you Weather Channel), but after editing a few of the images from a short session that Té and I did recently and enjoying the final product of one of the images, I thought I’d post these images ahead of the snow ones. Photographer rules…lol!

You ever had that perfect location (or that location that you scouted out just by walking around the city) that was just begging to be used for a photography session? In which you had in your mind the perfect weather conditions that would make said session possible? Knowing what lenses and/or equipment that would make this possible? And you were ready to go forth and make art and then all of a sudden, “BAM!!!” conditions equal no bueno??? Yupp, that was this session. Originally, I wanted to do images in front of this really amazing brick wall on Kenmare Street in Manhattan, with various words painted in white against a painted black brick wall. I thought I could use the words to convey different emotions and represent them through dance, in my mind it looked good :). But ran into a few problems (weather being one of them of course), but the session at that location wasn’t really going to work due to the camera lens I brought along. With a 50mm lens and only a few feet between the wall and the curb, the lens wasn’t going to give me the full body shots needed for what I envisioned. So I decided to put that location on hold and go south in Manhattan to find a location that would work and that had an adequate amount of street lights since the sun would be gone by the time we would start photographing.

Enter, the Financial District! Regardless of location, I knew for this session I wanted to focus a lot of action shots, dance moves that required Té to do some moves in which I would have to capture her at the peak of certain jumps. Also, various poses and holds that required some sort of movement in order to get into them. Thankfully, a street with very very little car traffic was available and we claimed it, for art of course, and it had the lighting necessary to set my camera at a high enough ISO in order to freeze the action. The session didn’t last too long as the rain wanted to be rude and invited itself back into the city. But I was able to fire off a few shots from the camera and I’m pleased with the images I walked away with and the practice received as a result. So, I’ll stop talking, and let you see the results. Enjoy!

[JRP ’13]

