Viral Control

By

Model: Nisla E.
Makeup Done By: Khasi Courtney

Assisted By: Mohan Bell & Jonathan Matamoros

When we were younger, we were encouraged (either by our parents, our teachers, the media, and etc.) to have big, limitless imaginations; yet somehow when we reach our adult years we are sometimes labeled as crazy, wild, and/or delusional if we continue to have such large imaginations, especially if one is an artist and they put such imaginations into their art.  Photography has definitely allowed me the opportunity to be a kid again and allowed me to have a long list of ideas of photo ideas, concepts, and themes that I want to execute.

On that list was a futuristic/technology sort of shoot, I imagined a time period set in the not-so-distant future in which human beings and technology are now one entity. Society utilizing this new technology to advance the greater good of civilization. But one slight problem exists, there are some people who wish to advance their own selfish desires and motives using this same technology by controlling the hearts and minds of individuals.

A man is literally what he thinks, his character being the complete sum of all his thoughts. – James Allen, As A Man Thinketh

What you see below are the beginnings of this idea executed in photography. Nisla, playing the role of a young lady (which I had a name for your character portrayal, lol), is in the beginning stages of fighting the viral control of her body from a sector of the media (probably fashion industry or some organization trying to create the perfect model, not sure the direction I wanna go). I look to push this idea further and to see what I come up with, but I am excited about the images produced.

Let me know your thoughts and critiques about the beginning stages, every bit will help.

[JRP ’12]

