Model Like A Ron-Star

By

In recent weeks, I’ve decided to put my old Canon FD 50mm f/1.8 lens to use (and to the test) on my Canon XSi camera by way of lens adapter. The subject for this test-shoot was the talented Ronnie D. with styling help from Ms. Hilcia Henderson. While shooting I discovered when shooting at an aperture of f/1.8, it created this lovely soft-focus effect that I think Photoshop would envy.

Before showing you some more results of the old Canon lens, I must point out the following. If you are in a shooting setting where time is not an issue (meaning you can shoot at your own pace and there are no time stipulations), I would say go for investing in a lens adapter and get that old prime lens out of your dusty camera bag or dusty shelf. You can easily obtain such lens adapters at B&H (bhphotovideo.com) and Adorama (adorama.com) and they make them for different lenses to fit most digital SLR bodies; and some of them are affordable depending on what you are looking for. However, if you got that time-limit for certain shoots or projects, it’s probably best you incur debt by purchasing an auto-focus prime lens with the widest-aperture possible. I love my lens adapters but believe me, I will not be using those for event photography or wedding photography; unless there are some creative shots I would like to obtain and it calls the need for those lens.

Enjoy the photographs after the jump…

[JRP ’11]

